The best link in bio tools for Instagram, compared

On this page
- What does Instagram let you put in a bio?
- Which link in bio tools work with Instagram, and what do they cost?
- Which link in bio tool is free for Instagram?
- Which link in bio tool sells from the Instagram bio, and what does a sale cost?
- Which link in bio tool looks most like your Instagram?
- How do you add a link in bio tool to your Instagram profile?
- Do you need Linktree for Instagram, or an alternative?
- Which link in bio tool for Instagram should you pick?
- Frequently asked questions
A link in bio tool for Instagram is a page that sits behind the one address in your profile and holds everything the profile cannot: photos, video, links, and things people can buy. Instagram itself allows up to five website links on a profile, per Instagram's own help page read on 4 September 2026, and each one is a line of text; the tools below turn that one line into a page. This comparison reads six of them from their own pages: Onlink, Linktree, Beacons, Lnk.Bio, Later and Canva.
The short version: five of the six print a free plan with no end date, and only one of those, Onlink, sells digital products, courses, paid calls, donations and tips on its free plan, at 10% a sale. Linktree sells at 9% from Starter and 0% on Premium; Beacons sells at 9% on Free; Lnk.Bio opens a shop on a one-time plan; Later tracks sales through affiliate links rather than taking payment; Canva links out to a shop. Every number is in the tables, with the page it came from.
What does Instagram let you put in a bio?
Up to five websites, per Instagram's help page read on 4 September 2026: "You can add up to 5 websites to your Instagram profile", added under Edit profile, then Links, then Add external link. The same page notes that "anyone, on or off Instagram, can see your websites" and that you can reorder them by tapping Options, then Reorder links.
Five text links is enough to point at a shop, a channel and a newsletter, and not enough to show work, host a video, or take a payment. That is the gap a link in bio tool fills: the profile carries one address, and the page behind it carries the rest. On Onlink that address is on.link/yourname, and the page adapts to the phone on its own, which matters because almost every visitor from Instagram arrives on one.
Which link in bio tools work with Instagram, and what do they cost?
All six work the same way with Instagram: you paste the page's address into the profile's Links field, and the tool never needs access to your account to do that. The paid plans run from a $9.99 one-time payment on Lnk.Bio to $90 a month on Beacons, with Linktree printing euros; Later's is part of a scheduling subscription that starts at $18.75 a month billed yearly, per Later's pricing read on 5 September 2026.
| Tool | Free plan | Paid plans | Instagram, per its page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Onlink | $0, no card, no time limit | Pro $12.50 a month ($10 billed annually); Premium $37.50 ($30 billed annually) | One page for every profile; the address goes in Instagram's Links field |
| Linktree | Free, no duration stated | Starter €6, Pro €13, Premium €32 a month (€4.50, €10.50, €27.50 billed annually) | "Unlimited Instagram auto-replies" on Premium; one link for "Instagram, TikTok, Twitter, YouTube" |
| Beacons | $0, "Free forever" | Creator $10, Creator Plus $30, Creator Max $90 a month ($8.33, $25, $75 billed annually) | "Instagram DM Automations" on every plan, Free included, per its plan table; "trusted by Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, YouTube, X" |
| Lnk.Bio | "free and unlimited" | Mini printed as $0.99 a month in the plan table and $9.99 one-time in the about section; Unique $24.99 one-time; Ultra $89.99 a year | "Log in via Instagram"; "Instagram & TikTok Sync" from Mini |
| Later | "Get Later’s link in bio tool for free" on its page; no free plan itemised on its pricing page | Starter $18.75, Growth $37.50, Scale $82.50 a month billed yearly, with a 14-day trial; Link in Bio listed on Starter | The page "looks like your Instagram feed"; up to five links per Instagram post, which its feature page places on Growth and Advanced and its pricing table marks on all three plans |
| Canva | Free, published under a my.canva.site address; "up to five live websites" on Free | Canva Pro for your own domain and Website Insights; price not on the page we read | "Create a link in bio for your Instagram, TikTok, or any social media" |
Sources, each read on 4 September 2026 unless stated: Instagram's help page on adding a website, Onlink pricing, Linktree pricing, Beacons pricing, Lnk.Bio, Later's link in bio page and Later's pricing (both 5 September 2026), and Canva's link in bio page (5 September 2026). One caveat on Linktree: its pricing page shows prices in the visitor's currency, and our browser sat in Europe, so its figures are in euros; a visitor in the United States sees dollar figures we could not read.
Which link in bio tool is free for Instagram?
Onlink, Linktree, Beacons, Lnk.Bio and Canva each print a free plan with no end date; Later's pricing page lists Link in Bio inside paid plans with a 14-day trial, even though its feature page says "Get Later’s link in bio tool for free". What each free plan holds is the real difference, and the table is each tool's own list.
| Tool | What the free plan includes |
|---|---|
| Onlink | Unlimited links, photos, videos, Spotify and YouTube cards, notes and a map; selling digital products, courses, paid calls, donations and tips; a lead magnet; the affiliate programme; analytics with revenue; 10 GB of media |
| Linktree | "Unlimited basic links"; "Sell products, courses, and make money on brand offers" |
| Beacons | "Customizable link in bio", "Sell unlimited digital products", "Create affiliate links", 50 email sends a month, "Real-time analytics", 30 daily AI credits |
| Lnk.Bio | "Unlimited Lnks", "Embed Music & Videos", "Add a Map", "Basic statistics", 577 templates, QR code, 3 pages |
| Later | Not itemised as a free plan; the trial is 14 days |
| Canva | A link in bio site on a my.canva.site address, up to five live sites, built in Canva's website builder |
Per the pages linked under the first table. The question behind "which link in bio is free" is usually "will I be forced to pay?" On Onlink, no: the free plan has no card and no time limit, you pay 10% when a sale happens, and a subscription only if you want a lower fee or more tools, as the Onlink pricing page lays out. The affiliate programme runs on the free plan too: anyone who signs up through your page becomes your referral, and it pays a one-time reward of $5 to $60 when that referral subscribes to a paid plan. Where each free plan ends, at the badge, the fee or the domain, is in our free link in bio comparison.
We built the free plan that way because the Instagram bio is where most creators start, and the first thing they want to put behind it is something to sell. The part of the product a creator needs to get paid should not sit behind a subscription, so on Onlink the page, every card type and every kind of selling are on Free, and a creator who sells nothing pays nothing.
Which link in bio tool sells from the Instagram bio, and what does a sale cost?
Onlink, Linktree and Beacons take a payment on the page, and Lnk.Bio prints a shop on its Unique plan; Later and Canva send the visitor to a shop elsewhere. The fee on a sale decides what you keep: Onlink takes 10% on Free, 7% on Pro and 0% on Premium; Linktree prints 9% on Starter and 0% on Premium; Beacons prints 9% on Free and Creator and 0% on Creator Plus and Max; Lnk.Bio prints no fee for the shop on its Unique plan.
| Tool | What you can sell | Fee on a sale | Where the money goes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Onlink | Digital products, courses, paid calls, donations and tips, on every plan | 10% Free, 7% Pro, 0% Premium | Your own Stripe account, through Stripe Connect; Onlink never holds it |
| Linktree | Digital products, courses, brand offers | No fee printed for Free; 9% Starter; 0% Premium; "Transaction and processing fees may apply" | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Beacons | Digital products, courses (video hosting from Plus), memberships, affiliate links | 9% Free and Creator; 0% Plus and Max | "cash out right away directly to your Stripe or PayPal accounts" |
| Lnk.Bio | "Open your Shop" on Unique ($24.99 one-time) | Not printed | Not stated |
| Later | Nothing on the page itself; "custom affiliate links to track every sale" to your own shop | Not applicable | Your own shop |
| Canva | Nothing on the page itself; "highlight your shop and feature products" as links | Not applicable | Your own shop |
Sources, each read on 4 September 2026 unless stated: Instagram's help page on adding a website, Onlink pricing, Linktree pricing, Beacons pricing, Lnk.Bio, Later's link in bio page and Later's pricing (both 5 September 2026), and Canva's link in bio page (5 September 2026). Where the money lands is the line most pages leave out. On Onlink a sale is paid into your own Stripe account and Stripe pays your bank on its standard schedule for your country; there is no balance on Onlink and nothing to withdraw. Beacons prints a cash-out to Stripe or PayPal; Linktree's and Lnk.Bio's pages do not say, so we do not claim it. The best link in bio tools compared has the same tables for Stan Store and Bio Link.
Which link in bio tool looks most like your Instagram?
Later's page is built to: it "looks like your Instagram feed", because each tile is an Instagram post with a link attached, and its FAQ says links "need to be attached to an Instagram or TikTok post" to appear. Onlink's page is a bento grid of photo, video, note, music and paid cards that you place yourself, so it reads as a page of your work rather than a copy of the feed; Linktree and Lnk.Bio describe a column of links with themes, colours and fonts on top, and Beacons and Canva add a website builder.
| Tool | What the page is | What you control |
|---|---|---|
| Onlink | A bento grid of cards: photos, videos, links, notes, a map, Spotify and YouTube, and the paid cards | Card sizes and positions by dragging, laid out for desktop and again for the phone; background as a colour, gradient or pattern on every plan, a photo or video on paid plans; no Onlink badge on any plan |
| Linktree | Links with themes | "Custom themes, fonts, & layouts" and "Remove Linktree branding" on Pro |
| Beacons | Links, plus a website builder | Colours, fonts, styles, layouts; "Remove Beacons branding" in its plan table |
| Lnk.Bio | Links and embeds | 577 free templates; custom colours, fonts and wallpaper and "No Lnk.Bio Logo in profile" on Unique |
| Later | A page of your Instagram and TikTok posts, each with a link | "custom buttons, backgrounds, text colors, and themes", a featured banner, a Mailchimp form, custom title and meta description |
| Canva | A website built in Canva's drag-and-drop editor | Templates, brand colours and fonts, photos, logos and social icons; your own domain on Pro |
Per the pages linked under the first table. Two things to weigh. Later's approach keeps the page in step with your posts, and it needs every post you want on the page to carry a link. Onlink's approach keeps the page independent of the feed: a photo card stays up whether or not it was ever a post, and a paid card sits next to it.
How do you add a link in bio tool to your Instagram profile?
Build the page first, then paste its address into Instagram: tap Edit profile, then Links, then Add external link, paste the address and tap Done, per Instagram's help page read on 4 September 2026. The whole change is one field, and nothing you have posted moves.
- Make the page. On Onlink, pick a handle and the page exists at on.link/yourname; add the links, photos and video you want on it, and any paid cards.
- Open Instagram on your phone, tap your profile picture, then Edit profile.
- Tap Links, then Add external link, paste the page address and tap Done.
- If you keep other links in the profile, tap Options, then Reorder links, and drag the page to the top of the list.
The same address goes into TikTok, YouTube, LinkedIn and X; where each of those fields is, and what it accepts, is in our guide to putting a link in an Instagram bio and the TikTok one.
Do you need Linktree for Instagram, or an alternative?
"Linktree for Instagram" is the most searched version of this question, and Linktree's own page answers what its plans hold: "Unlimited basic links" on Free, selling at 9% from Starter, themes and the badge removed on Pro, selling at 0% and "Unlimited Instagram auto-replies" on Premium, per Linktree's pricing page read on 4 September 2026. Whether you need it depends on which of those lines you want, and on where the same line is free.
- You want links under your Instagram profile and nothing more: Linktree Free, Lnk.Bio Free and Onlink Free all do it without a subscription; Onlink's adds photo, video and music cards on the same page.
- You want the page without a badge and in your own look: on Linktree that is Pro (€13 a month, €10.50 billed annually); on Onlink there is no badge on any plan, and card sizes, positions, colours, gradients and patterns are on Free.
- You want to sell from the bio: Linktree Starter at 9%; Onlink Free at 10%, Beacons Free at 9%.
- You want to sell at 0%: Linktree Premium at €32 a month (€27.50 billed annually); Onlink Premium at $37.50 a month ($30 billed annually); Beacons Creator Plus at $30 ($25 billed annually).
- You want Instagram auto-replies: Linktree prints them on Premium and Beacons prints "Instagram DM Automations" on every plan, Free included; Onlink does not offer them.
Every Linktree price in this list is on the page linked above, in the euros it printed to us. The wider list of tools that replace it is in our Linktree alternatives that let you sell.
Which link in bio tool for Instagram should you pick?
Start on Onlink's free plan: it is the only free plan of the six that puts photos, video, links and five kinds of selling on one page at $0, and the address fits Instagram's Links field like any other. Two cases send you elsewhere, both in the list.
- You want the page to mirror your Instagram feed post by post: Later, on a paid plan after its 14-day trial, per its pricing page.
- You want to design the page freely in a website builder and own the domain: Canva, on Pro for the domain; Onlink has no custom domain on any plan.
- You want to sell before you pay anything: Onlink Free at 10% a sale; Beacons Free at 9%.
- You want photos and video on the page as the page, not as links: Onlink, on every plan.
- You want a page that logs in with Instagram and syncs your posts as links: Lnk.Bio, with sync from its Mini plan.
Frequently asked questions
Which link in bio is free?
Onlink, Linktree, Beacons, Lnk.Bio and Canva each print a free plan with no end date, per their own pages. Onlink's is the one with photos, video, links and every kind of selling on it, and the only charge is 10% when a sale happens.
Is there a link generator for an Instagram bio?
Any of the tools here generates the address: on Onlink you pick a handle and the page exists at on.link/yourname, with nothing to install and no code. The address then goes into the Links field of your Instagram profile.
How many links can you put in an Instagram bio?
Five, per Instagram's help page read on 4 September 2026: "You can add up to 5 websites to your Instagram profile". A link in bio tool is how you put more than five things behind one of them.
How much does Linktree cost per month?
A free plan, then Starter, Pro and Premium, printed to our browser as €6, €13 and €32 a month, or €4.50, €10.50 and €27.50 billed annually, per Linktree's pricing page read on 4 September 2026. The page shows local currency, so a visitor in the United States sees dollar figures.
Is Lnk.Bio better than Linktree?
We compare each of them to Onlink rather than to each other. What their own pages print: Lnk.Bio's free plan is "free and unlimited" with a login via Instagram, a Unique plan at $24.99 one-time and a Mini plan its page prints as $0.99 a month in one place and $9.99 one-time in another; Linktree's free plan is "Unlimited basic links" with subscriptions from €6 a month. Onlink's free plan holds photos, video and selling at 10% a sale, which neither free plan lists.
Can I use the same link in bio on Instagram and TikTok?
Yes. The page has one address, and it goes into the website field of every profile: Instagram, TikTok, YouTube, LinkedIn and X. On Onlink the page adapts to the phone on its own, so it reads the same from any of them.
Does Onlink show my Instagram posts on the page?
Not from your Instagram account: the page holds the photos and videos you upload to it, placed where you drag them, on every plan. That keeps the page yours whether or not a photo was ever a post.



